Cuban Chicken

Hosting friends and family is one of my favorite things. I love having people over, cooking a delicious meal and making memories. This weekend we had some of our dear friends and their cute little baby. We decided it would be a good idea to share a little taste of Cuba with them 🙂

I am Cuban and though I love to eat food from anywhere, Cuban/Latin food is my favorite. Whenever I have people over I ask if they have any dietary restrictions (because I definitely do) and they did, they only eat chicken, fish and turkey. Usually, if you think Cuban you immediately think pork/lechon (or at least I do 🙂 ).  So how do you make Cuban without pork? Simply use the ingredients you would use on pork on chicken!

I have never made a whole chicken before, I found the thought a bit intimidating but I decided to give it a try. Also, I spatchcocked the chicken, a technique that I had only seen but had never tried, I used this Spatchcock Chicken Technique video. The chicken came out perfectly! I will try it again, next time I will definitely play around with the mojo and the ingredients I used to seasoned the chicken.

Cuban Chicken

The following recipe is from FoodWineThyme.com 

cubanchicken
Mojo ingredients

Mojo Ingredients

  • 1/4 orange bell pepper
  • 9 garlic cloves
  • handful of cilantro
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • juice of one lime
  • juice of 1/2 orange
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Mojo Instruction

  • Pulse all the ingredients in a blender. Store in a glass jar until ready to use.

cubanchicken1

Chicken Ingredients

  • One whole chicken
  • 1 tbsp adobo powder
  • ½ tbsp oregano
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • salt
  • prepared Mojo (recipe above)

Instructions

  1. In order to ensure that the chicken cooks evenly, it is best if the chicken is flat. I followed this video to spatchbook my chicken.
    • Place the chicken on a cutting board breast-side-down. Working from the cavity opening up to the neck, cut down each side of the back bone with a pair of kitchen shears; make sure to watch the video.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  3. Generously season the bird with salt, adobo and oregano. Top with onion slices.
  4. Transfer to a glass dish and coat well with Mojo on both sides. Cover with plastic wrap and marinade for at least two hours or overnight.
  5. To roast the chicken, set into an oven proof skillet. Do not cover.
  6. Roast until internal temperature is 165 degrees. It took me about 1½ hours, but this will vary depending on the size of the bird.
  7. Before carving allow to rest for 10 min. Enjoy.

Buen Provecho!

The Hungry Pea

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds absolutely delicious!

    Like

    1. it was pretty tasty, you should try it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

