Fig-Glazed Chicken

I’ll start by saying that I don’t think I have ever had fig-glazed anything but when I saw this recipe I thought I would give it a try. That’s one thing I do have to say about following an AIP diet, you need to be open to trying new things so that you don’t get bored of eating the same thing all the time. Though I can eat the same thing every day and never get bored 🙂 My husband though likes variety.

So the idea was to follow the recipes for Fig-Glazed Chicken with Mashed Plantains (click on links for recipes). But the only time I actually follow a recipe to a T is when I’m baking, otherwise recipes are guidelines I refer to when I need a little inspiration.

This time though, I thought I would actually try following the recipe since I had never made fig glaze and I wanted to make sure I was doing it right. WELL, that’s not what happened, somewhere in the middle I started doing my own thing and what was meant to be a glaze turn into hard candy 🙂 I laughed so hard! I still added it to the chicken, see the picture below.

Fig Glaze
FigGlaze

Ingredients

  • 1/2 tablespoon avocado oil
  • 1/4 teaspoons of onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoons of garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup fig preserves

Instructions

  • Heat avocado oil in saucepan over medium-high heat
  • Add all other ingredients, mix well and heat through, then set aside

For ingredients and instructions on how to properly make the Fig Glaze click here. And since it’s Fig-Glazed chicken, the recipe also provides the ingredients and instructions to make the chicken. You can follow the recipe from A Clean Plate (from the above link) or you can follow mine.

Chicken
FigGlaze1
Do you see the “glaze” it was so hard but had such a great taste I didn’t want to waste it so I added it to the chicken 🙂

Ingredients 

  • 1 pound of chicken thighs, bone-in and skinless
  • 1/4 cup of coconut oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • dash of salt for taste

Instructions

  • Rub chicken with 2 tablespoons of coconut oil until coated evenly, add the garlic powder and salt and heat the remaining coconut oil on a large skillet over medium heat
  • Cook the chicken 10-15 minutes on each side depending on the thickens of your cut, the flesh should turn golden brown and the chicken should be cook through
  • Remove from heat and let it rest for 5 minutes before serving

Eat up!

The Hungry Pea

Leave a Reply

