A Journey…

The title of this post was going to be… A Struggle… but for sake of keeping everything positive and upbeat I decided to go with A Journey. Because that’s what this is all about after all, a journey to a better life, better health, and an overall sense of a life well-lived.

In my first post I mentioned I was diagnosed with an Autoimmune Disease a year ago. Here’s what I am hoping this blog will become. I am hoping to start sharing Paleo and Autoimmune Protocol (AIP) recipes and other things such as foods/spices/ingredients to avoid if you are on an AIP diet. But right now I am trying to share with you what got me here. So I apologize because these first few post are going to be a bit long 😐

I am a self-proclaimed foodie.

I LOVE food. Food is my happy place. I discovered areas of my city that I never been to despite living here for ever simply because I found a place I wanted to try on yelp. I yelp everything and I am always in search for the next best thing. So you can imagine what it was like when I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s and was given a laundry list of things I needed to avoid. Words such as gluten-free, dairy-free, grain-free, soy-free, essentially everything-free. I wanted to cry. Matter of fact I went home a bit depressed. It was all just too much.

So I did the only thing I know how to do, I started researching. I bought books, followed blogs, created a pinterest board, followed people on instagram. The internet became my support system. One thing I learned through all of this, is that you are not alone.

One of first things my functional medicine doctor ordered after I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s was a food sensitivity test. The reason why I italicized “functional medicine” is because standard doctors take a different approach when dealing with autoimmune disease or anything else really. I am a believer of functional medicine, I believe that the human body has the ability to heal itself, sure there are some diseases that require the help of “modern” medicine. But before going that route, I suggest trying the more natural approach. Don’t be so quick to take the easy route, sometimes easy does not mean better.

Back to the sensitivity test, as previously mentioned it was a laundry list of things that were considered triggers, things that were causing my immune system to attack my thyroid. So the first step to healing was to eliminate all the items from my diet. Second, I was given a list of supplements to take, here’s a list of the ones I am currently taking:

  • Selenium
  • Vitamin D
  • Magnesium Citrate
  • Omega-3
  • Probiotic
  • Protein shake
  • Glutamine

These were all suggested by my doctor. Make sure to always check with your doctor before you start taking anything. Also, when it comes to supplements remember QUALITY is extremely important. And like everything quality does mean a little more pricey, but trust me, YOU are worth it.

Stay healthy,

The Hungry Pea

 

 

Leave a Reply

